International Women’s Day

tumblr_nc8ggn9AB01snexhzo1_1280 28th March: the day the world recognises and celebrates the outstanding contributions of inspirational females worldwide.

Today, a friend of mine commented that he doesn’t think that there should be such a day, because we should be acknowledging and appreciating women everyday. Although I understand his point, and agree that the celebration of women’s contributions should not be confined to just one day, I nonetheless feel that having a specific day to highlight the achievements of incredible women across the world is beneficial in inspiring and educating those who may be otherwise unaware of such influential women. It also reminds people of the struggles women have faced, and still do face, in the fight for gender equality; something I consider necessary whilst gender inequality is still very much a relevant and important issue. For as long as there is gender inequality, IWD is still required to motivate change.

“I don’t know why people are so reluctant to say they’re feminists. Could it be any more obvious that we still live in a patriarchal world when feminism is a bad word?”
– Ellen Page

I started my morning with a phone call from my Nan (a female figure I most certainly admire) and then spent the rest of the day on my university campus, thinking about how lucky I am to have an education that so many women are still outrageously being denied across the world. This led me to listen to a speech made by the incredible Malala Yousafzai (advocate for girls’ education and Nobel Peace Prize winner) and before I knew it, I had spent hours of my afternoon researching strong and amazing women and their impacts on the world. I have composed a short list of some phenomenal women whose contributions to society have been paramount, which I will share in my next blog post.

I ended International Women’s Day with a few cocktails at Turtle Bay with my best gal pal, discussing topics from a feminism module we have both taken as part of our philosophy degree, which seemed pretty fitting.

How did you celebrate International Women’s Day?

Ellie x

Leave a Reply

